Being Grateful…

I am going a little deeper on the blog today. Being grateful has been on my mind a lot lately. After quite a few rough situations this summer, I decided I needed to change the way I look at my circumstances. A few months ago, I began trying to live a more intentional life. I started writing down 5 things I am grateful for either before bed or first thing in the morning, turning negatives into positives, enjoying the little moments, and appreciating challenges. Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 1.02.36 PM

Image from Shop Dandy

This quote “Start Each Day with a Grateful Heart” has become my mantra. I am amazed how this changes my attitude even on the worst of days. I discover myself finding the silver lining in situations that are not favorable. There is always something to be grateful for even the smallest of things such as morning coffee (my coffee maker broke a few weeks ago, so this is a huge one currently). Even though my coffee maker is broken, I am blessed to have several coffee shops around town to visit. Also, I probably needed a caffeine cleanse anyways!

In a world full of hate and negativity, being grateful is a rarity. It is a choice we have to make everyday, its not always easy but when I chose to be grateful I never regret it. When someone starts ranting about their job or life, I sit back and ask well aren’t you grateful you have a job? or I bet there are thousands of people that would love to have your problems. Not to belittle anyone’s issues, but sometimes we need to take a step back and look at the bigger picture. It is so easy to be consumed in the little things. I am not perfect at this, but am constantly working to improve.

After sharing my blog with my friends and family on my birthday I was completely overwhelmed by the response. I was so grateful for the love and support shared with me. People I had not talked to in years were commenting on it or sending me messages. I was not sure how it would be received, and the response was more than I could have ever imagined. I feel this is a direct result of living a more intentional life.

I challenge you to write down 5 things you are grateful for everyday and see how it changes your attitude. Next time you are ranting over drinks to a friend, sit back and thing of the bigger picture.

How do you stay grateful during challenging days?

One thought on “Being Grateful…

  1. I think its like you say, you have to learn to put things in perspective that often the things that get us down in a few hours, or tomorrow or next week or maybe even next year will seem insignificant . Trying to balance the troubles against the permanent good things and people in your life helps to keep negativity at bay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

